Labelle Photo » Ottawa Professional Headshot and Portrait Photographer

Last night the Cystic Fibrosis Canada’s Ottawa Chapter had their post 65Roses Gala meeting and volunteer appreciation get-together.
We had a very good year and look forward to striving again this coming year to raise awareness and funds towards the goal of a cure or control for cystic fibrosis.
Thank You!

Cystic Fibrosis Ottawa Team

On Monday April 16th, A Taste For Life launched their media campaign to publicize  the one night only, dining event to benefit Bruce House and The Snowy Owl AIDS Foundation.
Participating restaurants will donate 25% of your bill to A Taste For Life to support people living with HIV/AIDS through supportive housing, compassion and education programs.

justin trudeau

Hoping for a knock-out punch to the tune of $200,000.00, the Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation, invited two well known political names to battle out their differences in the ring.

At the sold-out event tonight at the Hampton Inn, Justin Trudeau and Patrick Brazeau put on the gloves and stepped into the ring to help raise money to “Fight For The Cure”.

Opponents Liberal MP Justin Trudeau and Conservative Senator Patrick Brazeau have been preparing for the boxing match for months with intensive work-out regimes and trash talk.

Odds before the match were favouring Brazeau, who has a black belt in karate and has served in the Canadian Forces. Trudeau, while having some boxing experience from his childhood, is taller and had a small advantage with his reach. Both men came in at about the weight.

Brazeau came out strong in the opening minute of the first round but not really landing anything or hurting Trudeau at all.
The rest of the fight belonged to Trudeau who turned up the heat and with a flurry of haymakers that threw Brazeau off balance and left him looking a little bewildered.

The referee had to pause the fight twice for standing counts to see if Brazeau was OK, but in the third round, when Trudeau was unleashing a torrent of hits, he finally called the match.

The room went into a frenzy of excitement. After all, Trudeau was not only supposed to lose but also leave the venue injured. An incredible turn of events to be sure.

But in the end, it is the Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation that wins. At the end of the evening, the final tally came in at $230,000.00.

The Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts are Canada’s foremost awards for excellence in these artistic disciplines. The prizes are awarded annually to visual and media artists for distinguished career achievement in visual arts, architecture, independent film and video, or audio and new media. The awards also include the Saidye Bronfman Award for excellence in the fine crafts, as well as a prize for outstanding contributions to the visual and/or media arts in a volunteer or professional capacity. Each laureate receives $25,000 and a bronze medallion.

The following laureates were honoured this year:


[Artists profiles kindly provided by the National Gallery of Canada]

T w i t t e r
F a c e b o o k